travelswiss.info
GUIDES DE TOURISME DE LA SUISSE

GENÈVE | MONTREUX | ZÜRICH | LUCERNE | LAUSANNE | PRABORGNE | LUGANO | ST MORITZ | GRINDELWALD | DAVOS | SCUOL | BERNE
LUGANO

Canton de Tessin
 Lugano
 "Palm Express" Carpostal
Canton des Grissons
 Davos
 St Moritz
 Scuol
 Klosters
 Parc National Suisse
Canton du Valais
 Praborgne
 Le Cervin
 
Travel Links
New Page 1  



Lugano, dans le canton de Tessin (Ticino), a tout que une ville italienne pourrait offrir, et plus! Sauf que ses habitants de langue italienne sont fièrement des Suisses. Les réclamations de Lugano pour avoir les la plupart des heures du soleil par année en Suisse et moi pourraient voir pourquoi elle est ainsi. Tandis que la soirée de mon arrivée dans Lugano était saluée avec le déluge lourd, le jour suivant attendu m'avec un ciel bleu clair et la chaleur étouffante.

Les promenades ont garni des arbres de paume, ensoleillé magnifique survivent à, place colorée et palazzo, je ne pourrais pas aider mais comparer Lugano avec d'autres villes méditerranéennes. Mais les similitudes finissent là. La vaste étendue de beau lac de Lugano (Lago di Lugano) n'a rien à faire avec la mer méditerranéenne et les crêtes de montagne entourant le lac sont plus de la Suisse que toute autre chose.
 
Une promenade inclinée de short d'hôtel Montarina, où je suis resté durant la nuit, m'a apporté à enceinte chic de Piazza R. Rezzonico et de Piazza Della Riforma avec les places café-rayées ne servant presque rien autrement mais la pizza, les pâtes, le glace et le cappuccino. J'ai pris un bateau à travers lac de Lugano à une borne d'yacht où le service d'autobus local m'a transporté en bac jusqu au dessus de Monte Brè (660m). En fait il y a un train funiculaire qui sert l'itinéraire entre Cassarate à Monte Brè, mais le service était dû fermé aux arbres tombés qui ont réduit l'alimentation d'énergie la nuit avant.

Sur le dessus, la vue de Lugano centre-ville et la crête de San Salvatore est grandiose. C'est probablement l'un des quelques endroits dans le monde où vous tiendriez prêt le bord de retenue et le cri "Je suis sur le dessus du monde!". Si des guides essayent de corréler la vue avec celle de Rio de Janeiro, faites- confiancemoi, il est assez étroit.

Après qu'une visite si mémorable, il soit dure pour imaginer des vacances Suisse sans éprouver la beauté impeccable de Lugano.


 

Accueil | Liens

travelswiss.info
YOUR INDEPENDENT TRAVEL GUIDES TO SWITZERLAND
 

GENEVA | MONTREUX | ZURICH | LUZERN | LAUSANNE | ZERMATT | LUGANO | ST MORITZ | GRINDELWALD | DAVOS | SCUOL | BERN
LUGANO

Canton of Ticino
 Lugano
 "Palm Express" Postal Bus
Upper & Lower Engadin
 Davos
 St Moritz
 Scuol
 Klosters
 Swiss National Park
Canton of Valais
 Zermatt
 The Matterhorn
 
Travel Links

New Page 1  



Lugano, in the Canton of Ticino, has everything an Italian town could offer, and more! Except that its Italian-speaking denizens are proudly Swiss. Lugano claims to have the most hours of sunshine a year in Switzerland and I could see why it is so. While the evening of my arrival in Lugano was greeted with heavy downpours, the next day awaited me with a clear blue sky and scorching heat.

With palm tree-lined promenades, gorgeous sunny weather, colorful piazza and palazzo, I could not help but to liken Lugano with other Mediterranean towns. Yet, the similarities end there. The vast expanse of beautiful Lago di Lugano (Lugano Lake) has nothing to do with the Mediterranean sea and the lofty mountain peaks surrounding Lago di Lugano are more Switzerland than anything else.

A short downhill walk from Hotel Montarina, where I stayed overnight, brought me to the chic precinct of Piazza R. Rezzonico and Piazza Della Riforma with café-lined squares serving almost nothing else but pizza, pasta, gelato (ice-cream) and freshly-brewed cappuccinos. I took a boat across Lago di Lugano to a yacht terminal where the local bus service ferried me to the top of Monte Brè (660m) where the postcard-quality photos of the city and Monte San Salvatore are normally taken. Actually there is a funicular train that serves the route between Cassarate to Monte Brè, but the service was closed due to uprooted trees that cut down the power supply the night before.

On top, the view of Lugano and the sugar-loaf peak of Monte San Salvatore is awe-inspiring. This is probably one of the few locations in the world where you would stand by the retaining edge and shout “I am on the top of the world!”. If any guidebooks try to correlate the view with that of Rio de Janeiro, trust me, it is pretty close!

After such a memorable visit, it is hard to imagine a vacation Switzerland without experiencing the impeccable beauty of Lugano.


 

Home | Links